Good Morning Lovelies, 

And how are we all today? I am about to make your day a whole lot brighter because the official 2016 programme from the 60th BFI London Film Festival has been announced lovelies! 

With brand new film experiences including galas at the Embankment Garden Cinema and new projects and events, this year’s festival seems like the biggest one yet lovelies! Althogether the event will host 193 fiction and 52 documentary features, including 18 World Premieres, 8 International Premieres, 39 European Premieres. There will also be screenings of 144 short films, including documentary, live action and animated works. While also welcoming directors, casts and crews to take part in career interviews, Screen Talks, Q&As and Industry Talks: LFF Connects.

Starting on the 5th October and running for 12 days until the 16th October, screenings of each film will be hosted at the Vue West End, Odeon Leicester Square, the BFI Southbank, BFI IMAX, Picturehouse Central, the ICA, Curzon Mayfair, Curzon Soho, Haymarket, Prince Charles Cinema, Ciné Lumière, the Ritzy in Brixton, Hackney Picturehouse and Curzon Chelsea.

These screens and many more across the UK will welcome the Opening and Closing Gala film screenings including A United Kingdom and Free Fire, as well as the following galas of Lion, The Birth Of A Nation, LA LA Land, Manchester By The Sea, A Monster Calls, Nocturnal Animals, Queen of Katwe, Snowden, Their Finest and The Informer. 

As well as hosting the special presentations of American Honey, The 13th, Ascent, It’s Only The End Of The World and the special celebrates of the BFI Black Star project and the BFI Flare: London LGBT Film Festival. The festival will also host the Strand Galas for the films, Mirzya, Nocturama, The Handmaiden, Toni Erdmann, Bleed For This, The Autopsy Of Jane Doe, Paterson, Chi-Raq and Trolls.  

However it all comes down to the great competition films which include the second year of short film nominees. Those taking part include…

Official Competition Line-Up:
  • Brimstone
  • Certain Women
  • Clash
  • Elle
  • Frantz
  • Goldstone (European Premiere)
  • Layla M. (European Premiere)
  • Moonlight (European Premiere)
  • Neruda
  • A Quiet Passion
  • Una (European Premiere)
  • Your Name
First Feature Competition Line-Up:
  • Chameleon (International Premiere)
  • A Date For Mad Mary
  • Divines
  • The Giant
  • Hedi
  • Lady Macbeth
  • The Levelling (European Premiere)
  • My Life As A Courgette
  • Playground
  • Porto
  • Raw
  • What’s In The Darkness
  • Wùlu
Documentary Competition Line-Up:
  • All This Panic (European Premiere)
  • Chasing Asylum (European Premiere)
  • David Lynch: The Art Life
  • The Graduation
  • An Insignificant Man (European Premiere)
  • Lovetrue
  • On Call
  • Safari
  • The Space In Between – Marina Abramovic And Brazil
  • Starless Dreams
  • Tower
  • The War Show
Short Film Award Line-Up:
  • The Send Off
  • Love
  • The Girl Who Danced With The Devil
  • 9 Days – From My Window In Aleppo
  • The Trembling Giant
  • Your Mother And I
  • Ears, Nose And Throat
  • Import
  • Pickle
  • The Silence
  • Candy Floss
  • There Is Land!
Joining the incredible talent at the festival is, Jack Davenport, Arnold Oceng, James Northcote, Amma Asante, David Oyelowo, Rosamund Pike and Laura Carmichael, Armie Hammer, Babou Ceesay, Enzo Cilenti, Sam Riley, Michael Smiley, Noah Taylor, Ben Wheatley, Cillian Murphy, Sharlto Copley, Jack Reynor, Nicole Kidman and Dev Patel, Damien Chazelle, Casey Affleck, Michelle Williams, Sigourney Weaver and Liam Neeson, Aaron Taylor-Johnson, Tom Ford, Mira Nair, Lupita Nyong’o, Madina Nalwanga, Oliver Stone, Joely Richardson, Bill Nighy, Rachael Stirling,  Gemma Arterton, Sam Claflin,  Lone Scherfig, Ava DuVernay, Andrea Arnold, Xavier Dolan, Ben Younger, Miles Teller, Aaron Eckhart, François Ozon, Terence Davies, Jim Broadbent, Brenda Blethyn, Luke Treadaway, Adam Smith, Michael Fassbender, Charlie Brooker, Annabel Jones, Joe Wright, Bryce Dallas Howard, Alice Eve, Gugu Mbatha-Raw, James Norton, Jerome Flynn, Malachi Kirby, Hannah John Kamen. Nicole Kidman, Dev Patel, Werner Herzog, Park Chan-wook, Paul Verhoeven and Ben Wheatley.

Welcoming back their organised sections, the festival will also see more films added to their Strand sections which are:  Love, Laugh, Debate, Thrill, Cult, Journey, Sonic, Family, Experimenta and Dare. Furthermore the festival will also host exciting first looks and talks with the likes of Black Mirror, VFX master Dennis Muren, games creator David Cage, immersive filmmaker Lynette Walworth, unique events with Liam Young, DJ Yoda, Werner Herzog, Paul Verhoeven and Ben Wheatley. 

UPDATE ONE AND THREE: The films, On The Road, by Michael Winterbottom, Fisher Stevens' and Leonardo Dicaprio's Before The Flood, have just been added to the festival lovelies

UPDATE TWO AND FOUR: This morning the industry talk speakers were announced lovelies. Taking to the stage will be filmmakers and actors Amma Asante (A United Kingdom); Noel Clarke (Brotherhood); Julie Dash (Daughters Of The Dust); Barry Jenkins (Moonlight); David Oyelowo (A United Kingdom, Queen of Katwe) and industry speakers, Karen Blackett (Chairwoman, MediaCom), Ramy El-Bergamy (On-Screen Diversity Executive, Channel 4), Ben Roberts (Director, BFI Film Fund), Heather Stewart (Creative Director, BFI). Look out for more to be announced soon lovelies! Nicole Kidman and Dev Patel will host a screen talk on the 12th October at the Picturehouse Central.

UPDATE SIX: Lovelies! The BFI has announced the 2016 London Film Festival juries. This year’s presidents include Athina Rachel Tsangari, Sarah Gavron, Louise Osmond and Mat Kirkby. While the Official Competition will be juried by Anthony Chen, Radu Jude, Gugu Mbatha-Raw and Abi Morgan. The First Feature Competition will be juried by George Amponsah, Guy Lodge, Matthew Macfadyen, David Nicholls and Nira Park. As well the Documentary Competition jury is Edmund Coulthard, David Dehaney, Sara Ishaq, Sean McAllister and Sanjay Singhal. And finally the Short Film Competition will be juried by Bola Agbaje, Oli Hyatt, John Maclean and Nico Marzano.

 The juries will all be present when Michael Sheen hosts the Annual Awards Ceremony lovelies!

Look at for more news, tickets and information here lovelies: http://www.bfi.org.uk/lff

Blog Soon, 
Joey X

To keep up to date with all the latest news from the blog, follow it on Twitter @StartWithThis :)

You Might Also Like


Follow Us On Twitter

Follow Us On Instagram

Like Us On Facebook